Driver Safety Course
Payments received upon your request for driver safety course on violations that do not qualify, are missing documentation or filed after the due date will be accepted along with the plea and a conviction will be entered against you. The remainder of the fine will be due within 30 days. Please be sure that you have followed proper instructions and filed timely. Final judgments may be appealed within 10 days of judgment.
You are eligible to request this course if you meet the following conditions:
- Are not currently taking the Driver Safety Course for another traffic violation;
- Do NOT have a CDL;
- Have not taken a driver safety course within the 12 months preceding the date of the offense;
- Have proof of liability insurance;
- Have not committed the offense of speeding 25 mph over the speed limit or 95 miles per hour or more; and
- Have not committed one of the following offenses:
- Failure to Give Information at Accident Scene;
- Leaving Scene of Accident;
- Fleeing or Attempting to Elude Police Officer;
- Reckless Driving; or
- Passing a School Bus.
- A serious traffic accident;
- An offense in a construction maintenance work zone when workers were present;
- Course must be certified by the Texas Education Agency.
FILING DSC REQUEST REQUIREMENTS:
Request for any Driver Safety Course must be made prior to signing up or taking a course. At the time of the request, you must do the following:
- Present valid Texas Driver's License (CDL holders are not eligible for Driver Safety Course);
- Present proof of financial responsibility (usually current liability insurance);
- Plead guilty or nolo contendere with a waiver of jury trial; and
- Pay state fees and an administration fee totaling $144.00 for moving violations, $169.00 school zone moving violations and Juvenile* moving violations $179.00/Juvenile School Zone $204 (in person only). (You will NOT pay the fine as well).
- Present DSC Affidavit form notarized.
------If you were operating a motorcycle and request to take a driving safety course, you must take a motorcycle operator's training course approved by Texas Department of Public Safety.
------If your violation was for a seatbelt infraction, you must take a seatbelt driver safety course approved by the Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation (TDLR).You will have 90 days from the receipt of your request to complete the driver safety course and request your Driving Record. The driving record may also be ordered online from Texas DPS: Licensee Driver Records. No extensions will be allowed past your original due date, so do not wait until the last minute to complete your course. Click the link for a full listing of approved TDLR driver safety courses.
If you do not take the course in the time required and/or fail to present the court with any of the required documents, the court will order you to return to court for a show cause hearing in order to explain why you failed to comply. The judge may, but is not required to, allow you to file the proper papers at that time, providing you completed the course by the original due date. Your failure to be present at the show cause hearing will result in a conviction, a fine being assessed, and may lead to a capias pro fine warrant for your arrest being issued.
All juveniles are required to appear in open court for all proceedings in their case(s). The parent of any juvenile charged in municipal court is required to be present in court with his or her child.